Limping for Life

God in all things

IMG_0138
The story of Jacob wrestling with God–or the angel of God depending on who you read–has special meaning for me. In my twentieth year I was told that I had a benign tumour at the tip of my femur. I remember the surgeon saying I was damned if I did and damned if I did not (have the surgery). The procedure he was proposing had never been done here and there were no guarantees it would work. One of the fears was that I would limp for life. I learned this weeks before I was to leave for the United States to attend a post-secondary school. I was angry with God that this was happening. I cried a bucket of tears but in the end, after wrestling with the decision, I acquiesced. I was in too much pain to fight any more. The day I was supposed to leave for…

View original post 568 more words

Leave a Reply

