The Biggest Obstacle

Awesome.

Christian INTP

One of the main problems I’ve ran into when attempting to engage some Christians is—it seems like we’re speaking two different languages. There’s a lot of loaded religious language used that only serves to confuse and alienate others. When I could no longer stay silent about the contradictions I was seeing within the congregation, I spoke with some elders individually about those things. I was given a whole lot of rhetoric, cliches, and loaded language. I understood what they were saying, but their minds were so wrapped up in (what I believe to be) misconceptions, that there was no real conversation taking place.
For example, I mentioned that the way I was beginning to see church was more of relationships between individuals that are helping each other along in life’s journey. The “congregation” is free to be frail and vulnerable with each other to work out their faith together. It wasn’t so…

View original post 783 more words

Leave a Reply

