In The Face Of Change

For the first time since August 2011, I was nervous. I was so nervous I had to put out the lights to make sure my audience of one didn’t see how nervous I was and even long after the discussion, I had a pillow with me to cover my face. I had made a decision that turned all of my philosophy on its head and I couldn’t explain the rationale to my audience. I just knew I had given in to change.

I realise many people come up nervous when things are about to change. Generally, no one should be happy when things change for the worse but even when things change for the better, adapting to that change might be an issue. Fear of the unknown causes many people to shrink from change. And one reason I have discovered that affects people’s negative attitude towards change is what I refer to as deep-seated sentiment towards the status quo which causes prejudice against change. If you don’t get, just nod and say “that was deep”.

Anyway, when people are faced with a sweeping change that affects the core of their present existence or belief system, they cringe in fear and wonder at the emergence of this new thing. The members of the Sanhedrin in Jesus’ day had just heard a man shake the very root of their belief system. Shake?! I meant uproot. Jesus came with new talk that they had no choice but to regard as blasphemy! And that’s why they sought to kill Him.

Many of us do the same today when confronted with change and when we consider the reasons, it all boils down to fear of the unknown tomorrow and a lack of proper assessment of the change itself. Yes.

First, it will be wise for you to know and understand that fear is of the devil. God didn’t put fear of the unknown in anyone’s heart. In fact, if He did, it would be impossible to have faith. Faith revolves around a certainty in uncertainty. We cannot have faith and fear the unknown because the unknown or unseen is what we expect by faith. Fear would be extremely counter-productive for a person of faith. The best you can do is to make a mind-decision not to fear anymore and God will wipe it out of your soul. Remember, He has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind.

Second, you have got to stop the prejudice against change and become mature about the whole idea of it, especially if it turns out to be inevitable. I have discovered, over the course of many changes in my life and circumstances that much of the prejudice against change is simply because we don’t want to change. It is all sentiment and in actual fact, we rarely hold that prejudice against the consequence(s) of the change. That’s simply because we are too uptight to even consider the effect of the change! We just hate change. That’s the attitude I call ancestorism. You should call it forefatherism. We go “that’s the way it has always been and so it will remain”. Or “look, our ancestors will never approve of it. It is taboo!”.

My point is, if in the 21st century, we still have the brains of the 14th century (pardon my exaggeration), what’s there to jump and be happy about. By 2050, our descendants are going to say “my forefather accepted kerosene in exchange for their votes and that is the way it has always been”.

Where change is good, you must feed it, nurse it and give it a chance. And whatever it takes, focus on the consequence of change for you and do not rely on the stereotype created by your very uptight and dead forefather. He gone baby.

So go ahead, love outside your tribe (still watch out for the Ijebus though), marry a lawyer, change your politics, move out of your neighbourhood, change your church or whatever. Just get out of the box of fear you have put yourself in and make that change. It is better to fail in the long run than to stop at the starting line. What matters is that you ran.

However, since you’ve chosen to run you might as well just win the race too and make the change a change worth fighting for.

Leave a Reply

