Much Ado About Nigeria

So I turn political today. And I don’t think you’ll blame me so much. Last Wednesday, I spent thirteen hours at the petrol station waiting for a semi-literate station manager to decide whether or not to collect our hard-earned money from us. Of course he did, but his show of power sickened me. He had something I wanted. He toyed with me because he knew I wanted this petrol so bad. He took advantage of me; of hundreds that day, inflating the price of PMS so much I couldn’t believe it. I could only get 10 litres of fuel after my long wait, simply because that’s what the manager decided to “help” us with. This is the only place I can “talk” because I don vex. Boy am I angry.

Nigeria is a sick nation. We cannot pretend that all is well with Nigeria if indeed we love our nation. Where can one start from. Hundreds of thousands gathered to compete for only a few hundred positions at the Immigration Service and some of these candidates never returned home, the cold hands of death snatching them away. Yet delegates to the National Conference will bag N12million each. Just to talk. And eat food. And give an outcome we already expect. N12million for a conference that is dead on arrival.

Obviously, we are really rich in this nation. This nation where 10 million kids roam the streets without any hope of a future, all out of school. This nation where flowers are more valuable than human shelter, people rendered homeless because they cannot afford the kind of homes that look good in pictures.

On the 24th of December, 2013, the Lagos State Government razed the Marwa slum settlement in Lekki, displacing hundreds of “social misfits”. Misfit Nigerians, same ones who are needed every four years to put the government in the hands of the leaders who return to make life hell for them, as though living in a slum isn’t hell enough. With no concrete plan for relocation, and rendered homeless before Christmas, I wonder when these people won’t return to the slums.

Our so called leaders think we’re foolish. They’ve abandoned the PDP to claim that the APC is the real deal. In actual fact, the people who made the PDP what it was have decamped to the APC. I don’t know if they think a party change will change their nature. Snakes will be snakes. These parties that have no defining ideology other than the chop-I-chop agenda. When APC wins, considering they are an assembly of more than one party, the little money we have will be used to settle even more party members…those who stepped down for somebody who also stepped down for another person. Important jobs will never get to the people who need it because they will be used to placate allies and friends of allies. The corruption will be maddening.
As between APC and PDP right now, it is just a case of between the devil and the deep blue sea.

I’m sick and tired of all the games and charades of these people who think they own Nigeria. Those calling for the dissolution of the union don’t know what they are asking for. By the time the three regions become separate nations, it is only a matter of time before the Yewas fight the Egbas or Ijebus and the Ibibios claim they want to be a nation too.

Besides, we’re all individual nations already, providing our own personal economy and basic infrastructure on our own. Without the input of government! Each household is responsible for its security, electricity, water supply (I don’t even remember Water Corporation) and food, among other things. I am a local government on my own!

I’m just so tired. I don’t want to be tossed around by leaders who are unable to lead themselves. It is time for us to rise up and do something. If you can pray, pray! If you can talk, talk! If you want to write, please go ahead! But this trend of disastrous leadership must stop by all means.

By the way, if that silly petrol station manager gets on my nerves today, I will give him a talk he will never forget!

2 thoughts on “Much Ado About Nigeria

  1. Truly, the situation of the country at the time is saddening and it is necessary to raise awareness so we all can stand up and demand for what is rightfully ours.

    Well, as to disamalgamation, I remain indifferent. I don’t mind living with people from a million-and-one other tribes but if they don’t want to live in the same Country as I, they can leave, its no big deal!

    You should read up Chinua Achebe’s perspective on this in his book ‘There Was A Country’. I think the book sheds some light and you may end up having a different opinion.

    And please don’t stay mad at the station manager, it’s one of those things ehn, pele *smiles*. Thoughtful piece by the way!

    Like

    1. Oluseyi Mafolabomi

      Thanks.

      Actually, I’ve read Achebe’s book. I’m not saying that the country Nigeria should become separate nations. I only pointed out that if we believe that is the solution, when the dissolution occurs, minority tribes will still raise issues within the “new” countries. In one way or the other, there will arise issues of tribal differences.

      I don’t believe Nigeria should be dissolved neither will I stand in the way of her dissolution were it to occur. All I’m saying is that, there will always be a ripple effect of that once it occurs.

      Like

Leave a Reply

