Without My Glasses

Without my glasses the world is beautiful
Because I see nothing of it
I see nothing of its hatred and brutality
I see not the killings and the maiming
The chants of the protesters cloud my hearing
But I see nothing of it

Without my glasses the world is beautiful
But I see nothing of it
Because I can choose to see the good

I see all that man was created to be but is not
I see his heart seeking and longing for that
Which cannot but satisfy
But he is too high to reach it
I see as he struggles
To understand the place of injustice and iniquity
Of wickedness and sorrow
Of disaster and destruction
Man is confused

I see God with tears clouding His eyes
His world is no longer His world
man is no longer Man
I see His outstretched arms
Waiting and hoping and groaning while waiting
For the return of man to Man
For it to be as it was

I see Lucifer and his choir
They laugh at the confusion of man
And scorn at the mercy of God
At the love of God for the weak
For the undecided and undiscerning
For the dead. For the man who wasn’t Man

They satiate him with that
Which cannot satisfy
They push man down to the highest
man falls into the heights

I see the Man Grace
He is beautiful without my glasses
The Man offered me his beauty
And took my burnt face away
It is an unfair trade but
Who am I to complain

Because now without my glasses I am beautiful
Because I see nothing of me
I see nothing of my anger and pride
I see not the sins and the shame
The cry of my flesh clouds my soul
But I see nothing of me
Without my glasses I am perfect
Without my glasses all I see is Grace

Leave a Reply

