Clean Hands

My misdeeds
All my greed
All the things that haunt me now
They’re not a pretty sight to see
But they’re wiped away
By a mighty, mighty wave
A mighty, mighty wave

Your sins are erased
And they are no more
They’re out on the ocean floor

Audio Adrenaline, Ocean Floor

I can’t remember anytime as a kid when I came in for dinner with clean hands. I would just approach my food salivating till I get the knock on my head from a mother who’s not interested in hospitals (neither am I). “Get out and clean your hands, my friend!” Back with clean hands, I could dig into my food.

Something else however used to stop me from digging in straightaway, even after washing my hands: my memory. One particular evening, back then in Bariga, I had played with worms with my friends. By the time I ran in for dinner, I discovered that my godmother had prepared amala and okro for dinner. Slimy okro, slimy worms. Everything played out fast, and even after I washed my hands, it was still hard to eat cos every time I touched the food, I would remember where my hands had been.

When we come to Christ and we are cleansed of our sins, we are often times still haunted by the memory of our past deeds. When we come face to face with our Lord and His wonderful grace, the devil pushes our past sins to the fore and we begin to feel unworthy of God’s gift. We draw away and usually, many just collapse back into sin. Like dogs, they go back to their vomit. Personally, when I look at my hands, I remember a lot of sins I’ve wrought with them. My best friend tells me I have beautiful hands but my hands have gone places. Honestly, the sins of my hands alone can condemn a continent, let alone my whole body!

However, I’ve learnt over time from the Master and His Word that when we accept Jesus into our lives, our sins are immediately blotted out. They are literally no more…no longer in existence. Rather than shrink away from God because of something in the past, run closer to Him! As you get to know Him more, you’ll discover that your guilt is nothing more than just a manipulation by the devil. The devil doesn’t want you to be intimate with God!. He’ll do all sorts to make you feel unworthy of the grace of God and you’ll push yourself out of it by condemning yourself.
Christ doesn’t condemn us for our past failures. He’s forgiven us. Know this truth and let it set you free! Jesus loves you intimately. He desires you.

Indeed, I ate my amala even though I had just come in from playing with worms. The confidence I had in water and soap made me know that nothing would happen to me. And I have confidence in Christ too; confidence that my sins are away from me forever.

Anytime I look at my hands now, I just praise God and I continually thank Him for giving me clean hands. You should too.

Yours truly,
‘Seyi

Leave a Reply

